Calculation of the advertising budget of contextual advertising. Advertising budget. Estimating the advertising campaign budget in Yandex.Direct

We have a customization service contextual advertising, and it is very often used by those who only yesterday heard about this advertising channel.

The most common misconception that we encounter during the first conversation: “Tell me EXACTLY (and even better application) and how much money is needed for advertising.”

It is for this that I have prepared instructions, according to which, if you wish, you can independently make a budget forecast in Yandex Direct.

But let's get straight to the point. It is impossible to accurately guarantee the cost of a click, to voice the budget advertising campaign and even more so to name the price of the application.

I'm not going to say that professionals, in principle, never give guarantees, but only operate with probabilities.

I'll just say that even Yandex Direct wrong in his predictions. Therefore, it is possible to estimate the range of prices using special tools. And you can't say for sure. Just accept this fact.

KEY FEATURES IN BRIEF

If an unprepared person is shown this article right now, he will not understand anything, because there are many unknown terms in it. That is why, the first thing you need to read our article

But in order for the article to be as clear as possible, I am forced to voice the terms that we will use for calculations.

  1. Number of requests- the number of users who search for this key phrase;
  2. Position- the place where your future ad will be shown;
  3. Average cost per click forecast– average cost of a click on these positions;
  4. Sum- the future cost of a click, which is calculated based on the position of the ad placement;
  5. CTR– a possible conversion from seeing to clicking on an advertisement;
  6. Impressions/clicks forecast- the estimated amount of ad impressions and clicks on your advertisements;
  7. Budget forecast- the approximate amount that you will need to spend on this advertising campaign in yandex direct.

When calculating online variables, the average conversion in similar areas and the same keywords.

Or the calculation is formed on the basis of the current Yandex advertising campaigns of your competitors.

And even here weaknesses are already visible: the average indicator can be very volatile, and the indicators of your competitors can be distorted due to the crookedness of the settings.

But nevertheless, after calculating all these indicators, you will be able to understand whether you have the necessary budget for this and how many applications you can receive from this budget (multiply the number of clicks by the site conversion).

Or maybe you don’t have a minimum budget in reserve and it’s easier for you to launch or the same one.

And you will also be able to see the ads of competitors and those who are advertised in Yandex.Direct.

Thus, you can estimate their number and the ability to compete with you.

It will also become clear what key benefits they advertise or what prices they are based on.

We will definitely use such a little trick when we carry out when ordering.

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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS IN ACTION

We are all different. Not surprised?! So I made two detailed instructions how to make a budget forecast yandex direct.

One is for those who want to do it quickly, and the second is for those who are used to approaching everything thoroughly.

But if your budget is not large or the competition is minimal, then a simple level may be enough.

Life hack. If you would like to place in in social networks, then this can be done using the Aori automated service. Everything is quite easy and understandable even for beginners. Just go and register -> Aori

Simple level (basic analysis)

Budget forecast

First you need to have an account on Yandex like imya.family [email protected] If it's not there, then get it.

It's literally 2 minutes. After that, move on to more complex actions. Namely, to the transition to the Yandex.Metrica tab, where you will see 4 possible options actions. You need to select "Budget Forecast":


Budget estimate

After that, you will be transferred to a new tab, content with overloaded information.

But having figured out which you can independently, quite accurately and professionally determine the budget for your advertising in Yandex direct.

By the way, it looks quite simple, even for those who see this page for the first time.


Region

The first thing you need is to determine the region of your future advertising campaign.

That is, the areas or regions where it will be shown. If you are not a professional, then I strongly do not recommend watching “let it be all over Russia”. The data can be very blurry and very inaccurate.


Calculation parameters

As a rule, I leave these settings by default, but if you know from that that you only buy from mobile devices once a year, you can turn them off.


Key phrases

And now the most important thing is what the entire budget of your future advertising campaign is built from.

Its calculation is based on the key phrases you enter. Therefore, the more keywords you enter, the more accurate your forecast will be.

To do this, hints from keywords that are close in meaning are shown to help you.

You can choose them, or you can drive in keywords yourself. After you have entered all the necessary keywords, click the "Calculate" button.


Phrase prediction

"Hooray! Actually, here it is the entire monthly budget, which I need. Oh, so it’s not big yet! ”- you might think when you see this table.

But its problem is that initially it loads the data, as they say, in the “minimal configuration”.

To get real data and real monthly budget, you need to click on “1st special placement”.


Special accommodation

Tadam! And then there are completely different numbers of both clicks and budget, even with completely identical initial conditions for the type of display region and key phrases.

By the way, the figures shown with the “1st special accommodation” checkbox checked, this is your final budget miscalculation, which you can focus on and start from.

Of course, it can be less (I will discuss this below). But at least it can be taken as the initial data.

Difficult level (detailed analysis)

The first 7 stages you have seen are called “easy level”. It's ideal when you're estimating a budget for one or more keywords you know.


Manual count

To do this, you need to find and click the “Select” button in section 4 “Key phrases”, after which you will be redirected to an additional page.

For ease of understanding, you can call it a lightweight version of Yandex.Wordstat for searching and selecting keywords.


Keyword selection

Here you also specify the display region of your ad and enter the main key phrase, according to which all the phrases that users are looking for along with it will be selected for you.

It is advisable to enter the highest frequency word (as short as possible), so the system can provide more hints.


Hints

As you can see, the keyword picker not only gave you all the phrases for the query “buy a hammer drill”, but also tips that you can also use to analyze and plan your budget.

You will only have to select the necessary phrases and tick them. There is no need to be greedy here, take only those that really suit you.


Selection of phrases

In addition, I want to remind you that phrases can be on several pages, so do not forget to scroll through them to remove unnecessary ones and add the ones you need (for example, remove phrases with the prefix “used”).

Then just add them to the list and press the “Calculate” button familiar to you.


Calculation

In theory, everything will be the same as you saw before, however, by clarifying search phrases, you will be able to form a budget more accurately.

Also, don't forget to export the data to Excel if you want to come back to it later or compare it with others (for example, when choosing between two directions).

It is quite simple to do this, a special button is provided for this, which will give you such a document:



Data in Excel

Important. This method of determining the budget does not take into account at all.

And then you need to multiply the number of impressions by 1% (average conversion in clicks) and the resulting cost per click after dividing by 3.

You add all this amount to the main budget and now you know exactly your full advertising budget.

BRIEFLY ABOUT THE MAIN

It is not difficult to assess the budget in Yandex, for this you need to go to the service, select the region, platform and drive in at least the most popular keywords.

Most likely in all this business you will have the most questions with the last point - the selection of keywords.

But if you know your customers, you just need to start thinking like them, and then these phrases will flow like a river for you, and then it will not be difficult to predict the indicators.

And I want to immediately please those who saw unrealistically huge amounts. In practice, the resulting budget will be reduced to 30%.

It depends primarily on the quality of the ads, the acceleration of the advertising campaign (in the early days, a click is more expensive, and then the price drops) and several other factors.

In any case, it is better to lay a bad script, and leave a good one as a pleasant addition.

We released new book"Social media content marketing: How to get into the head of subscribers and make them fall in love with your brand."


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Unlike most other channels (television, newspapers, magazines), in Yandex.Direct, the budget is not fixed, it can be managed, it can be changed and adjusted during the campaign.

Estimating the advertising campaign budget in Yandex.Direct

That is, if the cost of an advertising block in a magazine is 1,500 rubles per ad, then you will pay that much, regardless of the text of the ad, the presence of competitors and other factors. In Yandex.Direct, the situation is different - in this system you pay for clicks on your ad, that is, for clicks, and it is difficult to predict how many clicks there will be, and what the price for each click will be.

On the one hand, this approach is convenient - by changing the rate per click, you can reduce or increase advertising costs at any time. However, it is difficult to determine how much money you need with this approach. For example, you want to save money and reduce the cost of a click. At the same time, you automatically give way to your competitors, who are willing to pay more per click. Or, conversely, you set a high CPC, but your ad is extremely attractive, and as a result, you overpay because it outperforms the competition and at no additional cost.

To help advertisers address this issue, Yandex has introduced an advertising budget forecaster. This is a tool that allows you to understand how much money you should spend on a campaign. The forecast algorithm calculates based on the data collected by the system over the past 30 days, so you will get a different result at different times.

How the ad budget forecast works

Your first step in predicting advertising costs will be logging into Yandex.Direct, where you will find the "Budget Forecast" option:

By clicking on the budget forecast, you will be taken to the campaign budget estimate page, where you will have to enter the name of the region where your potential clients, the period during which you are going to show the ad and a list of key phrases.

Keywords are the words that a user types in the search bar when looking for your product. If you are selling jewelry, then it can be “buy a gold ring”, “a gold ring is inexpensive”, etc.

If you wish, you can change the display period, just click on the word "change":

After that, a window will appear in which you can select the period, sites and currency in which you pay for advertising.

Display regions and keywords should be chosen in advance - it takes a lot of time to search and select keywords. After entering the necessary data, it remains to click the "Calculate" button and get an approximate amount of costs.

Specificity of the received forecast

Keep in mind that the amount you received as a result of the forecast is not the final result, but only a guideline. There are several reasons for this:

  • Seasonality of search queries. Given that the forecast is based on data for the last 30 days, seasonality is a serious distorting factor.
  • When making forecasts, the average figures for the effectiveness of the campaign are taken. Since some advertisers run campaigns successfully and some do not, the average is not particularly accurate.
  • The advertising budget forecast does not take into account impressions through the Yandex Advertising Network (YAN).

Taking into account all of the above, it is not worth spending effort and money on eliminating errors and obtaining an ideal forecast. It is better to take its result as a guideline and clarify everything in practice by doing a little testing. If you keep this in mind, the budget forecast for an advertising campaign in Yandex will become a useful and effective tool.

Media planning is an extremely important process, not only within the framework of millions of budgets. No less important this procedure and for small advertisers. Of course, it’s a little easier to predict future promotion costs offline. Here it is easy to understand how much it will cost to print business cards, place on a billboard or publish materials in the thematic press. However, with the right approach, you can make a media plan and calculate the budget in Yandex.Direct.

If you, like me, regularly work with contextual advertising services, then you have undoubtedly come across the Yandex tool " Budget Forecast". This thing is very useful, but you need to be able to use it. The main page of the service looks like this.

Important indicators

For example, for branding campaigns, the desired parameter will be the forecast of the number of impressions. The system analyzes the data collected by the robots of the Word Search tool over the past 28 days. Then, based on this information, Yandex predicts how many times a certain key query will be shown target audience. Clicks and CTR are calculated by the predictor in a very average way, based on how much traffic is selected in the calculation.

As for the debited cost per click, this indicator is not fixed at all. As you know, the placement is based on the principle of an auction, so an approximate CPC is issued at the moment when the preliminary forecast was made. You shouldn't be completely guided by the received cost of the transition, since it only helps to estimate the budget for Yandex.Direct.

Budget Forecast Tool

As an example that will help us figure out today how to calculate the budget for an advertising campaign in Yandex.Direct, let's take a fictional baby store karapuzik.rf. This online store is open in Podolsk, and delivery of goods is carried out in Moscow and the Moscow region. Now we can turn to the Budget Forecast tool.

First, the service offers to decide on the display region. By default, the whole world is used, but we need to stop our choice only on the desired regions. Click "Specify", then using the "Quick Select" option on the right side of the window that opens, click on "Moscow and Region".

The next step is the calculation parameters. Initially, the system gives a forecast in rubles for a month. The result is an optimal media plan. However, you can adjust the settings by making a forecast for the week, year or quarter, change the currency, or see how much it will cost to host only on mobile devices.

The third step is keywords. This list will be used to display ads; it forms the planned budget for an advertising campaign in Yandex.Direct.

Since there is no real launch of an advertising campaign at the stage of preliminary calculation, there is no need to create the most detailed list of queries, consisting of hundreds or even thousands of keywords. The screenshot above shows that at one time it is possible to calculate only such a list, which is made up of a maximum of 4096 characters. In addition, two important nuances must be taken into account here:

  • it is not recommended to limit your list to a small number of high-frequency queries. It is in this way that forecasts often arise with a planned budget of tens of millions;
  • It is not recommended to uncheck the "automatic correction of phrases with negative keywords" checkbox. The fact is that for the system there is no difference between a high-frequency unit and all requests nested in it. For example, if our store karapuzik.rf will be promoted by the phrases "baby strollers" and "baby strollers", then "Budget Forecast" will add up the traffic of both phrases.

In fact, this will be a mistake, since the second request is an investment in the first one, namely, the first one already takes into account the number of all requests that are formed by the words "children" and "carriages". Thus, the cross-backing track that we talked about is an extremely important process even at the budget planning stage.

In order to calculate the advertising budget for Yandex.Direct as correctly as possible, you need to pay Special attention selection of key phrases and their preliminary processing. We need to collect such a list, which will contain queries with high and medium frequency. Next, you need to make their cross backing track, for example like this.

Let's take an example of the impression forecast for the keyword "baby strollers" before the cross-backlink and after the necessary negative keywords have been added to it. The difference is obvious.

Thus, with an incorrect calculation on only one keyword, we can make a mistake of about 23,909 impressions, and the difference in the budget will be more than 70 percent!

But how to make a budget forecast for Yandex.Direct so that it matches reality as much as possible? To do this, we open a spreadsheet in Excel, and then we collect there those words and phrases that, in our opinion, will be entered by representatives of the target audience most often.

It is advisable to enter each keyword into your table from a new line in order to quickly download and calculate the entire list of words in the future. It is not necessary to separate one phrase from another with commas: the system will be able to do it itself automatically.

Next, we transfer the resulting list to the “Budget Forecast”, to the “Pick up key phrases” box. That being said, the Hints tool is a great help for compiling a more detailed list. Here you can be inspired by unaccounted ideas or immediately add suitable requests to the list:

Click "Calculate" and see a preliminary forecast of traffic and budget in your own words. Here we should pay attention to two additional features - these are the Refine and Select buttons. They are located next to each key phrase. Seeing the actual frequency of keywords using the "Refine" button, we can either refine them with additional negative keywords using the "Edit" button,

or find more relevant and less frequent queries using the Match tool.

At the same time, I always put all the phrases, the frequency of which in its original form goes off scale, in quotation marks before calculating the advertising budget for Yandex.Direct. Compare for yourself: the request “buy a stroller” without quotes and with quotes.

And if we compare the original list and the budget forecast for it without taking into account geotargeting, cross-reference, irrelevant negative keywords, special operators, we will see that the difference in money can differ by about 2.5 times, and in the number of possible impressions - and at all more than 4.5 times!


But even this forecast can be significantly improved and optimized in reality. Let's talk in more detail about how to calculate the budget for contextual advertising better than in the Yandex forecast.

Average Forecast Rate

The planned CPC for each keyword is inflated in most cases. The fact is that the average rate that the system gives is calculated at the moment when the user clicked the "Calculate" button. It shows the average value between those advertisers who bought 100% of the traffic volume.

In reality, the cost of a click can differ between the forecast and the fact even by 5, and sometimes even 7 times. This indicator in an active advertising campaign will be influenced by many parameters, such as:

  • actual statistics accumulated in the account;
  • period of the advertising campaign;
  • account quality indicators;
  • keyword quality and so on.

Therefore, if the question arose of how to calculate the budget for contextual advertising, it is best to go to Yandex.Direct, create a test campaign with text and image ads in it, and then generate a test ad group with your keywords.

This trick will help you calculate a real reduction factor to divide your original media plan into realistic numbers. For example, if the rate in the account differs from the forecast by 1.5 times, then we will divide all the parameters proposed by the tool by one and a half.

We will talk about the Budget Forecast tool in Yandex.Direct, and at the end of the article I will show you one trick, so read to the end.

What is Yandex.Direct Budget Forecast

How to get into Yandex.Direct Budget Forecast?

If you have advertising campaigns, then go to your direct.yandex.ru account and click on the Budget Forecast link in the top menu. If you don't have advertising campaigns yet, go to the main page direct.yandex.ru and in the Tools section there is a link Budget forecast.

I must say right away that you can use the Budget Forecast only when you log into your Yandex account.

After you log in, you will see a page like this, where you are asked to choose three steps.

How to use Budget Forecast in Yandex.Direct

1. Select a region

Let me click here and make a quick selection. It needs to be applied. If the region has changed, then you did everything right.

2. Select calculation options

Next, in the second step, you need to select the calculation parameters. I'll click Edit, and you'll see that there are several periods here, this is a week, month, quarter, year, 30 days, or a specific month. If you have seasonal business, or you are just planning to start advertising in Yandex.Direct, you can put the month in which you plan to start advertising.

Next, you need to select Sites - all or only Mobile, and you can also select the currency in which you want to receive data. I will leave Russian rubles. I didn't change anything, so I can click Cancel. In your case, if you have changed something, you must click OK.

3. Pick keywords

The third step is the most important. This tool allows you to predict the advertising budget for key phrases or keywords (let's for brevity I will call them sometimes KF) for which you plan to advertise.

I must say right away that the data will be inaccurate, this is just an approximate calculation.

However, the Budget Forecast has many different features that keep me coming back to it over and over again. For example, one of the things that I use quite often is that you can enter several CFs into this tool and see their frequency. In the case, you will have to enter each phrase separately and fix this data for yourself. In the Budget Forecast tool, everything will be presented clearly.

The window for selecting keywords in the Budget Forecast

Now let's use the CF selection window and enter some phrases. For example, "plastic windows". I click somewhere past or just wait, and a prompt window appears.

Budget Forecast Hints

To use the hint, just click on this link. Let's say I like the clue "PVC window". I click, and you see that it is transferred to this working window, and already separated by a comma with a space. You can also hide hints, or select “all fit”, so they will all be transferred to this window. Then you can click on the link More and see more tips.

Let's say I'm satisfied with the phrase "rehau window".

Organize, Clean and Auto Adjust

You also see that there is a certain limit on the number of characters, but I want to warn you that so far in this moment we can exceed this limit. That is, enter here the CF above these numbers.

Next, you see the checkboxes Automatically adjust phrases with negative keywords and Automatic fixation of stop words. If you want the Budget Forecast to work faster, you can clear these checkboxes. However, for the feature that I want to show you at the end of this article, I will leave these checkboxes.

Single set of negative keywords

Below we can add a single set of negative keywords. Let's enter here for an example “free, with our own hands”.

Now if I click the Calculate button, you will see that the negative keywords change and a table appears. Actually, for the sake of which we use this tool. So this magic tablet appeared, for the sake of which I go to the Budget Forecast. And let's go down a little lower, we see that the single set of negative keywords has changed - the words are written with the minus operator.

Yandex.Direct budget forecast table

Let's talk about the sign, what we see here and what we can do.

We can delete all CFs, we can delete a single keyword, we can select all CFs, or vice versa, remove some phrases. And if I remove the key phrase here, then please note that the budget forecast is changing, in this case becomes smaller.

Here we see a column, to which we will return a little later.

To quickly select a position in all CFs, we can use these links.

For example, let's say we want our keyword to rank first in Special Placement. And what budget will we spend per month. We click here, and we see that our advertising budget will be 7 million rubles. We can also change positions for each CF. Let's set all phrases to Special Placement.

Data filter

We can also filter the data here. For example, we can find out which CF has the highest impression forecast. Click here and see what is filtered out. Or vice versa, in descending order. I'm more comfortable like this.

Projected figures

Let's take a closer look at what numbers we see, and mention that these are only predicted numbers, that is, they are not accurate, and may differ in your advertising campaign. However, the Budget Forecast is constantly being updated and it is possible that the numbers here will be more accurate in the near future.

Although I doubt it a little, because these numbers that you spend depend on many indicators, including both the landing page and your ad. However, let's take a look at what numbers we see here.

If we want to advertise on the Special Placement position, then we will need to put such a rate - 500 rubles, and we will write off 140 rubles. Let me remind you that we are talking about the Moscow region and the region, because I chose it at the first step. Further, our ad will have a CTR forecast of 12.39% and an impression forecast of 256,974. There will be 31,838 clicks on our ad with such a predicted CTR, for which we will pay 4 million rubles.

The budget forecast has recently changed, before there was one number in the Impression Forecast column, now we see that these numbers change depending on the position. That is, at the first special placement, our numbers will be seen 263 thousand times, and already at the second special placement 260 thousand, and in the guarantee in general 132 thousand.

These numbers give us an understanding that it is necessary to occupy higher places in order to receive more traffic. That is, it is made specifically for this purpose.

Phrase column in budget forecast

This is the data we see, and now let's talk about this column, which I promised to tell you about.

If we click on a keyword, we see interesting information: we see ads from our competitors. If we look at them, we can take a number of ideas for ourselves that we will use in our advertising campaign. We also see here the regions in which they are advertised, we see the domains, we can go to them, evaluate the landing pages. In general, a very handy tool for analyzing competitors.

Edit, Clarify, Pick

Next, we see the links Edit, Refine, Select. Let's click on them and see what changes. Actually, in order to change our CF, we need to click the Change button and let's say that I want to have the only one instead of the plural, although this will not affect the data. To apply, click OK. If we change our mind, we must click Cancel.

Now let's talk about the Refine link. This is a very cool link, and I use it often enough to clarify the key phrase. Only usually I use one phrase so that other CFs do not interfere with the data. I click Refine, this window appears, and let's say I do not sell blinds and curtains for plastic windows.

In order to remove impressions, you need to click next to the phrase that does not suit me, for example, “blinds”, “curtains”, for example, I do not repair plastic windows, and if I now click Apply, then our CF will change - to it Negative keywords will be added. And if I now close this window and open it again, then in this window there will be no phrases “blinds”, “curtains” and “renovation”. Great tool, I also use it quite often.

And now we'll talk about the Pick up link. If we click here, we will get access to our usual Wordstat, and all the negative keywords will already be applied. And let's say I want to use all these CFs. I select them and click Add. All selected CFs will be transferred to this window and I will receive general data on them. You see, a lot of key phrases have appeared.

Export to Excel data from the budget forecast

We have worked with our keywords, some of them may not suit us again, I remove them, and now I can use these key phrases. I click Phrase List, copy and go to our advertising campaign, which I am creating. I can also export this entire forecast to myself, select what data I am interested in and click Export to XLS.

Promised chip

At the beginning of the video, I promised to tell you about a certain feature. The fact is that in this account I already have an advertising campaign.

And now I will open another account in which I do not have advertising campaigns, and I will do it in the Yandex browser (in another browser).

I will add here all the key phrases that I copied from the previous account. I'll click Calculate, all these key phrases have been added here.

And if I click on the link Export to xls, then you will see that there is a line like Export to Excel file to upload to the campaign. If I export now, then I will have a template for uploading to my account, in which key phrases will already be affixed.

And I can work with this excel file in order to write ads, put down links, sitelinks, clarifications and so on. And upload your advertising campaign. So I recommend that you create a separate account for working with such templates, so that you can quickly select key phrases using the Budget Forecast, take ideas for your ads, and in the end you will already get an excel file with key phrases, in which you can already add your ad.

Here is a feature, be sure to use it. If you liked the article, please like it.

Be sure to subscribe to my Youtube channel, there will be many more interesting videos. Denis Gerasimov was with you, bye bye!

We have released a new book, "Social Media Content Marketing: How to get into the head of subscribers and make them fall in love with your brand."

The time has come to clarify and highlight the money issue, which is usually talked about in vague language. In this article, we will tell you what the minimum depends on, how to calculate and save it, and how much you will have to pay for the RK in the end.

What determines the cost of advertising in Yandex.Direct

On fingers:

You set up the AC, wrote the ads, and launched the campaign. Every time a user clicks on your offer, the system deducts a certain amount from your account. The amount charged depends on the auction and does not exceed the maximum cost per click that you have set.

For beginners who have yet mastered the intricacies of assignment, automatic strategies are suitable. They will help save time on setting up and determining rates.

  • "Weekly click package" allows you to receive a certain number of clicks for a set budget. When setting up a strategy, specify the number of clicks that you would like to receive during the week. Direct will stretch your ad impressions for 7 days and will try to provide you with the desired number of clicks at the lowest cost.
  • Weekly Budget will help you get the most clicks for your budget. You will need to set a certain number of costs per week and indicate what result you would like to achieve in 7 days. The strategy will automatically select the most profitable ones to achieve your goal and display them in the Yandex.Direct interface every 15 minutes.
  • "Average cost per click" will allow you to get the maximum number of clicks per week. But the cost of the transition will not exceed the price you charge. This strategy is suitable for those advertisers who know how much they are willing to pay for the transition. The average cost per click is expressed in terms of weekly ad spend and the cost per click that is deducted per ad click. The minimum average price per click in Yandex.Direct is 0.3 rubles. Setting less in the interface will not work. After the launch of the campaign, the system itself will begin to bid on key queries in such a way as to attract as many visitors as possible.

The cost of AC is calculated based on the average CPC and the total number of clicks. If you use several keywords, then you must first calculate the cost of each of them, and then summarize the results.

Let's derive the simplest formula for calculating the cost of a campaign in Yandex.Direct.

SK = SSK * KK

  • SC is the cost of the campaign.
  • CCC is the average cost per click.
  • CC is the number of clicks.

Conventionally, this formula can be represented as follows.

I run RK, get 1000 clicks on average price 20 rubles. The cost of my campaign is: 1000 * 20 = 20,000 rubles.

On fingers:

We take average cost click on one key phrase from the campaign. Multiply by the number of clicks on that keyword. We get the budget for the key phrase.

We add up the budget for all key phrases. We receive the budget of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Let's summarize

The minimum budget in Yandex.Direct consists of three components:

  • click cost;
  • the number of clicks;
  • keys.

What is CPC

Cost per click is the amount of money you give to Yandex for someone clicking on your ad.

The cost of clicks in Yandex.Direct is not fixed. It is determined as a result of bidding between advertisers, which is called an auction. You can independently set the maximum amount that you are willing to pay per click.

Ad positions are calculated on the basis of bidding - whoever offers more, who has more CTR and quality coefficient, will get to the more attractive one.

Cost per click is affected by:

Seasonality of the offer

The request "Buy a scooter" is popular at the end of winter and at the beginning of summer. Competitive CPC during this peak is higher than in winter and autumn. Read and you will always be aware of user preferences.

Location

One of the most popular misconceptions is that places in special accommodation are more expensive than in guarantee. Actually it is not. Sometimes impressions in the 1st place of the guarantee (1st result after organic search) cost 2 and 3 times more than impressions in the 1st place of special placement (the very first line).

The final campaign budget depends not only on the cost of a click, but also on the number of clicks. And the CTR for ads at the beginning and end of the search results is different. Not all users scroll through the page, many do not reach the offers in the guarantee, so they click on the special placement.

It is definitely impossible to say that ads at the beginning of the issue are constantly clicked, and those located at the end are not paid attention to. All users have their own characteristics. To some, special placement seems like spam or viral links. Such users purposefully scroll to the guarantee, considering such offers more reliable.

You can read about what other pros and cons different placements have in our previous articles:

Advertising effectiveness

The higher your ad's CTR, the lower your cost per impression.

You can adjust the budget during the course of the campaign based on your performance metrics. To manage the cost of a click and control costs, you need to study Yandex.Direct reports. And to track the conversion - Metrica reports. How to work with Yandex.Metrica reports,

Quality indicators

These indicators are determined by Yandex itself. For advertisers, their nature, although largely mythical, is very important. They affect the increase or decrease in the cost per click.

Let's talk about some of them:

Domain Karma

Key relevance

The keyword you use must match the title of the ad. It is not necessary to cram the entire keyword into the title. A match of 2-3 words out of 5 is already good. Let's consider two examples of one ad for the query "Buy air conditioner with delivery".

The title should satisfy not only the system, but also users. Make announcements understandable, replace abstractions and enhancers with facts and figures.

An ad with the heading “Inexpensive air conditioners” can be followed by people for whom 15 thousand is expensive. They will see the price, they will leave, we will drain the money. Facts and figures help to make a cut of the desired target audience and form user expectations.

Page relevance

The key request should lead the user to a page with the service or product that you advertised. If a person clicked on an ad that sells china sets, then he should land on the page with tea sets, and not with dining rooms.

Remember to match the search intent to the content of the page.

An intent is a user need. The task that he implies by entering this or that phrase in the search bar.

Sometimes the intent is incomprehensible. Even if the phrase with which the user is trying to express his task is included in your SA.

How can this be:

We launched a campaign to sell services. The semantic core of the campaign contains the phrase "Buy services".

Here the user enters the request "Buy sets", sees our ad and goes to the page with table sets. And he needed tearooms. Rare guys will explore the site to find exactly tea, usually users close the page and return to the search results, and we get a refusal.

To reduce the number of bounces for such obscure queries, use sitelinks and cross-backlink campaigns.

How to calculate the minimum campaign budget in Yandex.Direct

The easiest way to determine how much money you need at the beginning of your journey is to use the Yandex.Direct budget forecast.

In the windows that appear, you will be prompted to decide on the display region (1) and upload a list of approximate key queries (2).

But to launch the campaign, you will need to collect a lot of keys. Read about it in one of our articles.

The final result of working with the budget calculation will be approximate, but sufficient to get an idea of ​​the possible cost of the campaign, click-through rate and bids in a particular place. Read ours to understand all the intricacies.

But on this useful tools do not end.

Weekly budget in Yandex.Direct

The "Weekly Budget" strategy will allow you to set a limit on spending during the week and calculate the budget for the month ahead. This is convenient because you can immediately set a certain cost framework.

The system will allow you to set the maximum cost per click manually and offer you to use the "Maximum conversion by goal" technology. To do this, you will need to install a metric on the site, set goals for visitors in it, and associate it with the campaign.

Daily budget and total account in Yandex.Direct

What is a general account and why is it needed

This feature is enabled automatically for all new Yandex.Direct users. As soon as you register an account, this inscription will appear next to the tab with your campaigns.

Connecting a shared account is convenient for managing finances. You do not have to pay for individual campaigns, replenish the balance, track the amount of funds for each advertising campaign. Ad impressions will continue as long as there are funds in the general account.

It is very easy to replenish a single account on your own in the same ways as a regular RK: by receipt at the bank, through, by card, in cash using the payment code, Yandex.Money, using PayPal.

You can also enable auto pay. With automatic replenishment, the account balance will be replenished either from your wallet in Yandex.Money, or from bank card. But this option is available only to advertisers from Russia who pay for advertising in rubles.

Daily budget: why limit yourself

The daily budget limit is a function of Yandex.Direct. It allows you to spend a fixed amount per day on your ads. Yandex determined the minimum threshold for possible expenses at 300 rubles.

You can use the daily budget if you select "Manual bid management" from the list of strategies.

In the boxes you will need to specify the number of expenses per day and select the spending mode from two possible ones.

  • Standard. Set by default. If you choose it, then your ads will be displayed until the limit is exhausted.
  • Distributed. This mode will allow you to stretch the specified limit of funds for the whole day or for the period that you specify in the time targeting.

Calculations are made according to Moscow time, and you can change the limit no more than three times in 24 hours. Please take this into account if you are running a campaign in a different time zone.

Savings should also be reasonable, and by setting the budget for one day too low in Yandex.Direct, you run the risk of losing impressions, and therefore targeted visitors. Start with the minimum amount that Yandex.Direct can offer, and then adjust its size as the campaign works.

Proper use of strategies for working with funds in Yandex.Direct allows you to save money, while receiving a considerable response from the audience.

Availability robs your ads of untargeted impressions and clicks, reduces bounce rates, and has a positive effect on CTR.

They work as follows.

We sell car tires and conduct advertising campaigns on the request "Buy tires". We're not interested in showing ads to people who are looking for bike tires or medical tires. To show ads only to the target audience, add "bike" and "medical" to the list of stop words.

To better understand these things, read our article with a red button on the use of negative keywords, their collection and settings.

Minimum budget in Yandex.Direct: summing up

The price of the RK in Yandex is a variable and individual value. The cost of RK depends on the goals. For some, 2,000 transitions per day are not enough, but for others, 200 will do.

The minimum budget is influenced by the region, demand for a product or service, competition in a niche, and other factors that we have already talked about. Each of them either increases the cost of the campaign, or lowers it.

To name the exact amount that it will cost you to launch a campaign in Yandex.Direct, you need to find out the needs of the advertiser, preliminary analysis market, determine the audience coverage, form KPI and test the AC. And you can also refer to Semantics. Our online advertising specialists will help you create KPIs, calculate the budget and achieve profit.